Greetings From Helen

As the academic year begins to close, I am thinking about the events of this year and what I hope to accomplish in the next academic year.

Regardless of the future events, I believe that good leadership in an organization is required. Good leadership is tied into what the mission of a practice is all about. From the onset of the practice, I’ve stated that SLEA is about fostering the quality development of understanding, speaking, reading and writing. To that end, over the years we’ve developed programs focused on Child Development, Speech and Language Development, Educational Therapy, Occupational Therapy and Behavioral Intervention.

There isn’t a day that goes by that I don’t appreciate the monumental task we’ve ALL undertaken. Beginning with marketing and referrals, followed by scheduling, juggling different programs and schedules, dealing with language and disability differences, different ages of clients, dealing with academic vs. medical entities and needs, report writing for different agencies, and so on. Decisions have to be made quickly. We are always adjusting to different criteria.

Our staff is terrific. When I look around me I am so impressed. Some of you may treat a 90 year old dementia client at 8:00 am, an autistic 3 year old at 9:00, a bilingual evaluation at 10, attend a meeting at 1:00…it just goes on and on. I am so grateful to all of you for all your efforts. The scheduling team who is on constant watch for openings, schedule changes, therapist requests. The billing team who must adjust what they know about the different agencies we work with. The front offices, who deal with our staff, parents, children, co-pays. Our insurance billers who need to remember guidelines for all the different companies we work with. It’s incredible.

I want to thank my administration, my professional staff, our contracts for all your support and efforts. We’ve built a great practice. I am very proud of our accomplishments.

Till next month!

Helen

2 thoughts on “Greetings From Helen

  1. Jeff Diskin (having suffered some strokes) has fluent asphasia. I know that
    you’re busy. Please call me if u can. Thanks Gloria

    • I appreciate that u think of us, Helen. I am grieving if that makes any sense. Poor Jeff. Trapped inside, frustrated & confined. I wonder if there’s any kind of fluent aphasia support grp n the valley I hope things r going well for both of you. Call me when have time-I know you r busy

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

Leave a Reply

